USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Railroad Safety Technical Training Standards

The Railroad Safety Technical Training Standards Division (TTSD) manages the Office of Railroad Safety’s Technical Training Program for more than 650 Federal and participating State railroad safety inspectors and specialists of the technical disciplines. To accomplish this mission, the TTSD designs, develops, and delivers specialized internal courses, in accordance with a rigorous model construct referred to as a Systematic Approach to Training (SAT). 

Technical training is based on organizational needs, analyzed each year.  On average, TTSD manages approximately 70 classes in 40 different courses of study each year. 

TTSD also develops, implements, and monitors a formal on-the-job training program for new safety inspectors and inspector trainees.