Official US Government Icon

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.

Secure Site Icon

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on the CDC website.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Railroad Safety Technical Training Standards - Overview

The Technical Training Standards Division (TTSD) manages the Office of Railroad Safety’s Technical Training Program for more than 650 Federal and participating State railroad safety inspectors and specialists of the technical disciplines. To accomplish this mission, the TTSD designs, develops, and delivers specialized internal courses, in accordance with a rigorous model construct referred to as a Systematic Approach to Training (SAT). 

Technical training is based on organizational needs, analyzed each year.  On average, TTSD manages approximately 70 classes in 40 different courses of study each year. 

TTSD also develops, implements, and monitors a formal on-the-job training program for new safety inspectors and inspector trainees.

Last updated: Sunday, October 20, 2019