## Interstate Rail Compact: Active Compact List

Pursuant to section 22306(c) of the Infrastructure Investment Jobs Act (IIJA) (Pub. L. 117-58), the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) is making available on its website this list of Interstate Rail Compacts established in accordance with section 410 of the Amtrak Reform and Accountability Act of 1997 (49 U.S.C. § 24101).

More information related to funding opportunities for Interstate Rail Compacts can be found on the FRA website's grant program<sup>1</sup> page.

## **Currently Established Interstate Rail Compacts**

Name of Interstate Rail Compact	States Included	Year Established (By State)
Virginia- North Carolina High Speed Rail Compact	Virginia; North Carolina	2004
Midwest Interstate Passenger <sup>2</sup> Rail Commission	Eligible States: Illinois; Indiana; Kansas; Michigan; Minnesota; Missouri; North Dakota; Wisconsin; Iowa; Nebraska; Ohio; and South Dakota. See MIPRC website for list of current members.	2000
Southern Rail Commission <sup>3</sup>	Louisiana; Mississippi; Alabama	1982
Gateway Development <sup>4</sup> Commission	New Jersey; New York	2019

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> https://railroads.dot.gov/grants-loans/interstate-rail-compacts-grant-program.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> https://miprc.org.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> While the Southern Rail Commission (SRC) predates section 410 of the Amtrak Reform and Accountability Act, SRC is an entity implementing an Interstate Rail Compact and therefore is included here.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> https://www.gatewayprogram.org/aboutgateway.html.