Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on the CDC website.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Divisions Overview

The Office of Railroad Safety's divisions serve as technical experts on matters of railroad safety, provide technical assistance to field personnel, and aid in the development of regulations and the evaluation of waivers submittals.

Divisions within the Office of Railroad Safety:

  • Bridge and Structures Safety Division
  • Communications and Resource Management Division
  • Drug and Alcohol Division
  • Hazardous Materials Division
  • Highway-Rail Crossing and Trespasser Programs Division
  • Human Performance
  • Industrial Hygiene Division
  • Motive Power and Equipment Division
  • Operating Practices Division
  • Operations and Planning Division
  • Passenger Rail Division
  • Positive Train Control Division
  • Rail Integrity Division
  • Railroad Safety Information Management Division
  • Railroad Safety Oversight Management Division
  • Railroad Safety Technical Training Standards Division
  • Regulatory Analysis Division
  • Risk Reduction Program Division
  • Security, Preparedness and Accident Analysis Division
  • Signal and Train Control Division
  • State Safety Participation Program Division
  • Track Division
Last updated: Thursday, November 7, 2019