USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Contact the Hazardous Materials Teams

Federal Railroad Administration
RRS-43 Mail Stop 25
1200 New Jersey Ave SE
Washington DC 20590

For media inquiries please contact frapa@dot.gov

Hazardous Materials Division
Staff Director Mark Maday mark.maday@dot.gov (202) 493-0479
(202)527-1883
Deputy Staff Director – Field Operations Christopher Machenberg c.machenberg@dot.gov (301) 741-7778
Deputy Staff Director – Investigations Gary Flores gary.flores@dot.gov (916) 798-9370
HM Specialist – Regulations/Interpretations Kurt Eichenlaub kurt.eichenlaub@dot.gov (202) 577-9590
HM Specialist – Accident Chief David Lucero david.lucero@dot.gov (915) 471-0938
HM Specialist – Operations/Audits Lawrence “Mel” Massaro lawrence.massaro@dot.gov (814) 279-1771
HM Specialist – Routing/Security Plans Lisa Matsinger lisa.matsinger@dot.gov (717) 659-0110
HM Specialist – Radioactive Materials Transportation Jeffrey Moore jeffrey.moore@dot.gov
 
(215) 327-6852
HM Specialist – HM Investigations/OTMAs Joe Weyandt joseph.weyandt@dot.gov (813) 352-1792
Program Analyst – OTMAs Kim Noah kim.noah@dot.gov (301) 741-8472
Tank Car Safety Team
Program Manager – Tank Car Safety Randy Keltz randy.keltz@dot.gov (202) 236-7460
General Engineer – Packaging Adam “AJ” Konrad adam.konrad@dot.gov (202) 253-7101
General Engineer – Packaging Matt Forister matt.forister@dot.gov (716) 609-7075
General Engineer – Packaging Larry Strouse larry.strouse@dot.gov (773) 484-0039
Tank Car QA Specialist Dave Gildea david.gildea@dot.gov (202) 360-0006
Tank Car QA Specialist Jim Strong james.strong@dot.gov (202) 253-4059
Tank Car QA Specialist Vernon Walker vernon.walker@dot.gov (770) 686-8654