USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Paul Nissenbaum, Associate Administrator for Railroad Development

Paul NissenbaumPaul Nissenbaum has served as Associate Administrator for Railroad Development since January 2012.  In that role, he leads an office of professionals responsible for FRA’s rail investment and network development programs. He also directs technical assistance and oversight to advance rail projects through planning, engineering, environmental analysis, financial planning and implementation. Mr. Nissenbaum's office oversees Amtrak funding and policy work, and he serves as senior advisor to the Secretary of Transportation’s representative on the Amtrak Board of Directors.

From 2008 to 2012, Mr. Nissenbaum served as Director of Office of Passenger and Freight Programs. In that role, he oversaw FRA’s implementation of the Passenger Rail Investment and Improvement Act of 2008 (PRIIA) and development of the High-Speed Intercity Passenger Rail (HSIPR) Program—including building new partnerships with state DOTs, railroads, and other stakeholders, and expanding FRA’s capacity to carry out its new responsibilities.

Prior to FRA, Mr. Nissenbaum worked at Amtrak for nine years and was lead author of Amtrak's 2005 blueprint for change, the Strategic Reform Initiatives. He also served four years in congressional offices on Capitol Hill, and nine years directing a surface transportation and environmental consulting practice. Mr. Nissenbaum holds a Master’s degree in Public Policy from Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government, and a Bachelor’s degree from Wesleyan University.