Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest general information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on the CDC website.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Office of Railroad Safety

FRA's Office of Railroad Safety promotes and regulates safety throughout the Nation's railroad industry. 

The Associate Administrator for Railroad Safety (also know as the Chief Safety Officer) provides executive direction to the Office of Railroad Safety through two Deputy Associate Administrators and eight Regional Administrators. They execute regulatory and inspection responsibilities through a highly qualified staff, including about 370 Federal safety inspectors, who are organized into several programs and safety disciplines.

Responsibilities include:

  • Train and certify State safety inspectors (currently about 170 in 30 States) to enforce Federal rail-safety regulations.
  • Manage a substantial regulatory agenda, overseeing and participating in the Railroad Safety Advisory Committee, which provides consensus recommendations from the industry on a range of regulatory issues.
  • Continuously monitor the occurrence of train accidents and incidents.
  • Investigate serious events to determine their cause and railroad compliance with existing safety laws and regulations.
  • Collect and analyze rail-related accident/incident data and convert this information into meaningful statistical tables, charts, and reports.
Last updated: Thursday, October 31, 2019